Posts Tagged ‘Orissa cricket Association’

Finally OPL – Season 2 Sees the Day

Odisha Premier League - OPL

OPL- Season 2 Sees Light

Stung by charges of corruption and financial irregularities, the Orissa Premier League that started off brilliantly with much fanfare in the year 2011  and was  forced to be abandon ed by the Orissa Cricket Academy (OCA), has finally seen the day with the beginning of the start of OPL – Season 2 yesterday from 1st May.

After repeated postponements, the organizers took the event to a colorful start this year with much changes in the format and composition of the team. The opening ceremony of the gala event was held in Barabati Stadium in Cuttack yesterday amidst much fanfare.

Having done away with the  bidding system for purchase of players and the direct involvement of any corporate in the process, the  Orissa Cricket Association (OCA)  has devised its own plan and strategy to hold the OPL and has made a list of some 176 players putting them in five grades and fixing their match allowances according to the gradation of players. A total of eight teams have been short listed  that has been rechristened as  Barabati, Mahanadi, Dhauli, Rushikulya, Baitarani, Konark, Subarnarekha and Chilika.

The playing eleven of each team consists of three players each from Grade A and B, two players from Grade C and D and one player from Grade E. The players will be paid according to their grades. Each team will have three players from Ranji team, four each from B and C grade player pool and three or four players from local area. They will be paid Rs 50,000, Rs 40,000, Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively for each match.

This year all the matches of the Orissa Premier League (OPL) will be played in Barabati stadium (cuttack) and VSS stadium (Sambalpur). While all the Group A matches will be held in Cuttack the Group B matches will be palyed in Sambalpur. At both the venues, the first match will be played from 4.00 pm to 7.00 pm and second from 7.30 pm to 10.30 pm. Arrangements have also been made to get the matches telecasted on local TV channels.

The champions of OPL-II will get cash a cash prize of Rs 3 lakhs, while the runners-up will take home Rs 2 lakhs.The third-placed team will be richer by Rs 1 Lakh, while the Man of the Tournament will pocket Rs 25,000.

The Twenty 20 tournament could not be held last year after it came under the scanner of the vigilance department following allegations of black money having been invested by corporate who sponsored the event. The event this year , though sans any major sponsor still has everything in it to enthuse it’s fan and have their eyeballs glued to the TV screen!

Orissa Premier League (OPL) Starts from Today – Barabati Stadium Turns a New Leaf

Orissa Premier League Logo

Orissa Premier League Logo

Orissa’s own cricket razzmatazz, the Orissa Premier League (OPL)begins inthe Barabati Stadium of cuttack from today! The Katak Barabati Tigers take on Bhubaneswar Jaguars in the inaugural match. But before that, spectators in the Barabati Stadium will be treated to a spectacular laser show followed by a grand display of fireworks.

The Orissa Cricket Association has done everything to ensure that the event is attended in large numbers. The stage is also set for promotingthe cultural heritage of Orissathrough the OPL.In this endeavor, popular artistes from all parts of the state will perform at the inaugural function . A few artistes from outside the state will also perform in the event.

Presence of a large number of actors from Ollywood will also be a attracting crowds .Anubhav Mohanty, the brand ambassador of OPL will add attraction to the cricket carnival.

The first of its kind, Orissa Prmier League will be an event that will involve 140 players and ten different teams. The competition is due to be over on June 12th.

Oriya Actor Anubahv Mohanty is OPL’s Brand Ambassador

Anubhav Mohanty - Oriya Actor is OPLs Brand Ambassador

Anubhav Mohanty - Oriya Actor is OPL's Brand Ambassador

The Orissa cricket Assocaition (OCA) declared that the popular Oriya actor Anubhav Mohanty would be the Brand Ambassador for the upcoming Orissa Premier League (OPL). The actor was roped in owing to his popularity and ability to draw crowds. The young actor took time to thank the OCA . “OPL is a good platform to promote cricket in the state.I hope it provides the game to surge and spread all across the state. I am looking forward to the tournament with great interest,,” Mohanty stated

The names of all the ten participating teams in the T20 extravaganza were also declared by the OCA alongith their home venues. The teams are

1. Bhubaneswar Jaguars

2. Kashvi Power rangers Keonjhar

3. Copertaive Kings Dhenkanal

4. JSP Spark

5. Puri Emperors

6. Katak Barabati Tigers

7. Berhampur Bhanja Veerh

8. Angul Tuskers

9. Baleshwar Baghes

10. Western Samurai Rourkela

The OPL which starts from May 22nd in Barabati Stadium Cuttack will be played in a period of 20 days across venues of Cuttack,Bhubnaeswar,Sambalpur, Angul and Paradeep. In tune with the IPL, all the matches will be played in night under floodlights.The final match will be played on June 12th at the Barabati Stadium.